Snappy Top teacher appreciation

1 05 2011

I’ve had this idea rolling around in my head for appreciating the teachers of T3 & T4.  I was inspired by this etsy site (Pilo.) Ok, I LOVE this Etsy site so check it out.  I started with my snappy top bag tutorial an cut some muslin to the 7×9 size in my tute. I sewed a pink line down the side at 7/8″ and then marked lines an inch from the top and then every 1/2 in. after that until I had 1 in. from the bottom and sewed them blue.  I wrote Mrs. Brown’s name and then used my rusty embroidery skills and embroidered her name.

I assembled the bag per my tutorial with a cute orange polka dot fabric inside.  I’m going to put a pack of gum, some chap stick and maybe some cute alligator clips or pens in the bag.  I still have to make the bag for T4’s teachers, but I wanted to post this first.  I was very excited with the result.

I will also try for a better picture when T1 gets home with her good camera.  Love my iPhone, but the camera just doesn’t cut it.

Featured at UndertheTableandDreamingThirty Hand Made Days

Sharing at :: I heart naptime :: Tatertots & Jello :: Flamingo Toes :: Under the Table & Dreaming :: Thirty Handmade Days ::


Actions

Information

25 responses

2 05 2011
Kira @ Kissingthejoy

I am SO impressed with your creativity! I would have never thought to mimic the notebook paper like that. What a lot of work, but it turned out just adorable. I’m sure Mrs. Brown is going to LOVE it!

2 05 2011
Celeste

such a great tote….
I am new follower from the linking party ar Flamingo Toes…. Wouls love for you to visit my blog.
http://www.touchedbyabutterfly.blogspot.com

2 05 2011
Jules

WOW!!! If I had been blessed with the talent to sew a straight line, I would seriously get myself out of my cozy bed and do this right now. So creative!!! Blessings on you and your family … I am clicking to follow! XOXO jules

4 05 2011
Randi

That is fantastic! What a neat gift … you did a really great job with it.

4 05 2011
Kelli

This is such an adorable idea! I may try to make a few of these for end of the year gifts:)

4 05 2011
kimbowest

linked this up at my facebook!

4 05 2011
Stephanie Lynn

Mandi – This is the cutest thing ever! Totally love it! I am sure any teacher would love this as a gift. Thanks so much for linking to the Sunday Showcase – I greatly appreciate it. I have featured this today. Hope you are enjoying your week ~ Stephanie Lynn
http://www.bystephanielynn.com

5 05 2011
Lindsay

Oh My Gosh. I am so in love with this!! This is SO darling, and such a great idea for teachers!!! The snappy bag is very clever (I went to the other post. I assume that the 2 sides of the tape measure just snap into eachother by bending the other way?)
Great job – and such a deserving Under the Table and Dreaming feature:)
Lindsay
craftyladylindsay.blogspot.com

6 05 2011
sarah @ Handbags*N*Pigtails

Oh my gracious this is awesome! I kept wondering where you found the notebook page fabric:) You crafty lady….just fabulous! Thanks for sharing your mad skills with us!

6 05 2011
Beverly @ FlamingoToes.com

Mandi I love this bag!! Such a great idea for a gift. 🙂 Thanks so much for linking it up to Think Pink Sundays! I featured you today: http://www.flamingotoes.com/2011/05/crush-of-the-week-think-pink-features-5/

7 05 2011
Katy Lunsford

Too cute! Thanks.

9 05 2011
SJ @ Homemaker On A Dime

Hi, friend! I’m admiring all your creative posts here so can you please share them with us at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop? Hope to see you there at the party 🙂

19 05 2011
Kristol Faucheux

Christian,

Just wanted to share a link to my post where I made these adorable little bags.

http://themagicofordinarythings.blogspot.com/2011/05/teacher-gifts.html

Thanks for the inspiration!!!

Kristol

19 05 2011
4tsmom

I will post a link to yours. I agree the closing is an issue and as I’ve made more of these bags, I’ve adjusted it to make it easier. I will update the tutorial with the tricks I’ve discovered along the way. Thanks again for sharing your link with me.

23 03 2012
Stevi

I could’n’t find an email address to email you. But I have a question about your little make-up bag if you could email me that would be great! jameyandstevi@sbcglobal.net

3 07 2012
7 09 2012
Ideas de regalos para las profes

[…] en 1 Lavenders Blue 2 Tolen Family Fun 3 Lisa Storms 4.In Between Laundry 5.PBJ Stories 6. bee in our […]

6 12 2012
Mandie Ingram

Would you be willing to make 4 bags for me? I can’t sew a lick 😉

6 12 2012
Christine Davis

Are you selling/shipping these for Christmas?

10 12 2012
10 DIY Teacher Gifts | Columbia County Moms

[…] Embroidered Tote Bag: This project is a little more involved, but perfect for a child who is just beginning to sew and […]

19 12 2012
Crafty Hour

[…] so i made a little “ruled paper” pouch. (idea for the “paper” from here)  I interfaced a piece of white fabric and then sewed lines at 1/2″ intervals in light blue […]

30 05 2013
Mamatoga Top Ten: Teacher’s Gift Ideas | Mamatoga

[…] 4. Snap Top Notebook Tote. I think this little tote is absolutely adorable, and can be used as a makeup bag, a little carryall, or just as a small tote full of essentials to be stashed in the classroom desk. Fill it with whatever extra goodies you want to give and it makes a perfect gift! Get all the directions here at tolen family fun. […]

30 05 2013
Mamatoga Top Ten: Teacher’s Gift Ideas | Mamatoga

[…] 4. Snap Top Notebook Tote I think this little tote is absolutely adorable, and can be used as a makeup bag, a little carryall, or just as a small tote full of essentials to be stashed in the classroom desk. Fill it with whatever extra goodies you want to give and it makes a perfect gift! Get all the directions here at tolen family fun. […]

5 03 2014
10 Fabulous & Fun Teacher Appreciation Gift Ideas | This Girl's Life Blog

[…] teacher “Sharpies” & “Smarties” Button Bookmarks Summer Relaxation Kit Embroidered Makeup Bag Colorful Crayon […]

4 04 2014
15 - Teacher Appreciation Gift Ideas - The Crafted Sparrow

[…] Keep Calm & Teach On Framed Print Berry Basket Gift Embellished Scissors Water Bottle “My Teacher is AWesome” Chocolate Bars Air Freshener or Scentsy Gift Candy Fish Colored Pencil Vase Classroom Subway Art Canvas Tote Tote Bag […]

Leave a Reply

